Friday Find

I’ve decided Friday’s will be the days that I post neat finds. Call me old-fashioned but I like the alliteration. It’s catchy 😉 Finds are things/places that I have acquired neat stuff from and that you can too. Because frankly it’s a pain in the ass for me to find stuff that I like. Gift lists are nigh near impossible. Things that I would think should be common place (like 1″ or bigger sphere brass beads *shakes fist*) are apparently antiquated or as the oh so clever man at the hardware store phrased it (whilst looking for actual IRON nails) “that sounds old timey”.

I have always imagined that I cannot be the ONLY person searching for these things and thus my will to share my resources in the hopes that others will share theirs 😉 hint hint, nudge nudge

Ok so on to the Find!

Don Simpson

I am a lover of skulls, bones, antlers, really any organic material. So you can what sorts of things I have tagged to come across my Tumblr dashboard. Yesterday I was pleased to see the stuff that muse-whipped was posting. Craved skull necklaces, amazing antler systrums, right up my alley! All by this artist named Don Simpson. Naturally I got to check out his page, see how much his stuff is etc. Because I would LOVE to own his skull fetishes. They are carved and organic, a real reverent touch, no plastic acrylic paint or any of that frippery that I’m not found of. They remind me a lot of my Coyote skull. In fact…

Holy bull riding zombies! That IS my Coyote skull! Needless to say I HIGHLY recommend Mr. Don Simpson. His work is impeccable and he puts real love and power into his pieces. As far as I can tell he only sells in person and through private messages on Deviant, all his unsold pieces can be found: Here. Obviously these are investments, and not cheap, but well worth it (if your into that kind of thing). And he does take commissions (hhmmm carrion crow skull…hmmm)

To back up my claim of his work being amazing, I’ll tell you the story of how this Linear Coyote came to live with me. I was at Pantheacon a few years back, my first time at the Con actually. Perusing around the dealer’s room, like you do, and came across this little booth of skulls and rocks, and organic odds and ends (score!). And there in the center of the table was this beauty. I had never seen anything like it before, and I just HAD to touch it. Ever so gently I ran my little index finger down the bridge of his nose, and BAM! Electricity. Chills. Magic. Fucking awesome. But you know budget etc, I keep looking. My Lumberjack Man was with me (Note: Lumberjack Man is not a pagan, if he were anything he’s a agnostic-psuedo-buddhist-Scientist-viking), and he turns to me with big eyes, “That Coyote skull just gave me chills when I touched it.” Now it’s time for my eyes to get wide. “It’s a sign! We have to bring him home!”. So off we scuttle to the hotel atm and purchase our magical skull. We’ve lived happily ever after ever since (well as much as you can with a Coyote and a Lumberjack Man with a Coyote totem in the house).

 

http://backend.deviantart.com/embed/view.swf
Badger Skull B by *DonSimpson on deviantART

http://backend.deviantart.com/embed/view.swf
Antler Eye Pendant 4 by *DonSimpson on deviantART

http://backend.deviantart.com/embed/view.swf
Antler Systrum Set by *DonSimpson on deviantART

Leave a Reply

