Every Day Carry

Times are looking shady af. It is always a good time to think about emergency preparedness, and if you are wanting to also be of use to other people, it’s just something to think about. In that vein, the Lumberjack and I spent the day updating and taking inventory of our EDC’s and making list of things to get for an office kit for me. One of my dear friend’s asked to know what I carry with me, so in the vein here it is in case you find it useful or inspiring.

Now everyone’s EDC is going to be different, based on your needs and area. I hate carrying a lot of shit, so my EDC is as compact and minimum as possible.

20161112_133654_hdr

So this is it. Everything that fits in that little bag to the right. The bag is one that can be worn over the shoulder or as a thigh holster for longer distance walking. Starting over to the top left:

My keys, I attach to the outside of my bag with a 150 lbs carabiner. My keys include a small pepper spray unit. I like the small ones you can get pretty much anywhere so that it is out and easy to grab. It is also just good to have out for visual deterrent, rather than being buried in your purse.

My wallet, is that leather bag there. Inside I have a card with “Contact in Case of Emergency” information. This way if something happens to me people will know who I am and who to contact. I also keep a couple dollars change and will likely try to keep some nominal amounts of cash ($20 or so). Because where I work the electricity is dicey and cash is just handy. I also keep a card that has some duck tape wrapped around it in here. you can use and old gift card or any plastic card you don’t use and wrap a good amount of duct tape that won’t take up a lot of space. You can also wrap wire, thread, or fishing line.

20161112_135623_hdr

 

Beneath my wallet is a small clean handkerchief. Endlessly useful.

Next we have my medication bottle. This is going to be the big thing that I HIGHLY encourage everyone to make sure they have one them at all times. Enough of your medication for at least 48hrs. More if you can. I have my personal meds and ibuprofen in that container and have other first aid meds in the Lg. Altoids case.

Next we have my multi-tool and a pocket knife. I have my father’s Gerber Bluntnose Multi-tool.  Which is my preferred multi-tool. It’s slim, it is reliable. I also have a Gerber Remix Serrated folding knife. These are tools that are endlessly useful. In a folding knife, I want something thin and has quality blade.

Then we have a square  black makeup bag. This holds some loose end items, some example of which you can see to the right of it. This is where my earphones go, my glasses and glasses cloth, tampons, hair pins, a flashflight. Keeps everything neat and easy to get to. One thing I need to get that will go here is some beeswax chapstick.

Back to the top, is my check book.

Below that are a few pens, a sharpie, and a hair stick. Sticks are endlessly useful as a tool and for someone who has over 3 feet of hair.

Back to the top is my Clipper card (public transit card), a small Altoids tin (with actual mints in it) and a thing of post it notes.

The Large Altoids tin has some more first aid and survival stuff in it.  Which we will look at below.

20161112_134713_hdr

This tin holds some bandaids, two plastic baggies, one of which holds the following:

Strike anywhere matches
A pencil witch wire wrapped around it
Chalk
mini candle
Safety pins
My sewing kit. A piece of cardboad that I stuck a sewing needle into and wrapped some upholstery thread around and taped with masking tapes.
Fishing kit, has a goodly amount of fishing line and a hook

Then I have two zip ties, some aluminium foil, a garbage bag (doubles as a poncho if needed), and a swiss army knife.

Things that are missing from this kit because they got used and need replacing are:
Pepto bismol  pills
UTI pain pills
alcohol wipes

This is everything that I carry everyday in my purse. There are some items that I need to purchase to add to this. Some hand-sanitizer & sunscreen are at the top of my list. And the Lumberjack is talking me into carrying a stainless steel water bottle with me to and fro work. I currently have one at work but…I dunno. We’ll see. I see the use but I lose shit.

I will be making up a kit for the Office here soon that will be a little more in depth on the first aid and will include things like Milk of Magnesia and such, because I live in an urban area where tear gas is a thing.

People that are looking for a place to start in making an Earthquake emergency or just a general emergency kit for the home. There are pretty complete kits, it is a chunk of change up front but overall it would be just as expensive or more so to put it together piece by piece. Amazon has a 4 person Earthquake Kit for $105 and change.

Because I live in CA here is the FEMA Earthquake Safety Checklist for those wanting to get their emergency preparedness together.

There are a lot of things to consider in preparedness, especially in today’s current social climate. Stay safe out there! Be vigilant, and please do what you can to help those around you in need. This is a good guide for helping people being harassed (the comic is focused on helping those of the Islam community but I think it applies across the board): http://maeril.tumblr.com/post/149669302551/hi-everyone-this-is-an-illustrated-guide-i-made

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. I love your list! I would like to add my two cents on one thing, and that’s the medicine… It may be useful for people to know that they should check their state laws concerning carrying prescription meds. In my state, it is illegal to carry a prescription medication in anything other than its prescription bottle, and police have been known to search vehicles and bags, ect. on the basis of “suspicious behavior” and will use this (even when they know its bogus) as a reason to arrest someone. If someone has more than one medication (I have several, as does my son), this can mean multiple containers. Inconvenient perhaps, but what we do, to keep extra meds in our vehicles, is ask the pharmacy for an extra bottle with the prescription on it, in their smallest size.

Leave a Reply

